Friday, October 07, 2005

Same-sex marriage update

On the day we departed Australia for Timor, the Canadian government passed their same sex marriage bill. Spain also passed a similar bill. The countries, which now offer equality to all relationships, are the Netherlands, Belgium, Spain and Canada (with a number of other countries offering domestic relationship registration which gives all de facto or common law relationships the same status: eg New Zealand, Denmark, the UK). Note that two of these countries are Catholic (Belgium and Spain) so perhaps there is hope yet for Timor (I won’t hold my breath)?

Category: Timor-Leste (East Timor)

Português/Portuguese Français/French Deutsch/German Italiano/Italian Español/Spanish 日本語/Japanese 한국어/Korean 中文(简体)/Chinese Simplified


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link